Welcome to the 
International Year of Glass 2022 - Region 16
IYOG2022 logo.png
Region 16 comprises the following countries - click on the country to go to their IYOG website:

New Zealand
and the Pacific Islands

is the lead organisation in Australia and is working with the Window and Glass Association of New Zealand,  Ausglass,  and many other people and organisations in  the region to  create a year that showcases the many facets of glass and its benefits to humanity.

Each region will organise its own events, for information on specific countries please click on the country listed above to be taken to their IYOG websites.

For events in Australia, see below.


For anyone interested in being involved, whether that be organising an event, being a sponsor or volunteer, please download and complete the

Expression of Interest Form and email to: Patrick@glaasinc.com.au 

Glaas Logo_orange.png

Toward a United Nations Declaration of  2022 as the International Year of Glass 

Year of Glass ICG logo.jpg


Over the past 60 years, the General Assembly of the United Nations has acknowledged important fields of international endeavor and their contributions to society by declaring United Nations International Years. These resolutions have recognized and celebrated professional bodies, museums, journals and academia, while stimulating renewed contributions to society. Examples during the 21st century include the International Year of Astronomy, 2009, the Year of Chemistry, 2011, the Year of Light & Light-Based Technologies, 2015, and the Year of the Periodic Table, 2019.

Against this storied background and supported by sound arguments, an international groundswell has arisen to pursue a United Nations International Year of Glass for 2022 which will underline the technological, scientific and economic importance of glass — that transparent and enabling material underpinning many of our technologies and which can facilitate the development of more just and sustainable societies to meet the challenges of globalization.